Softies for Sherri

Hello All!

Crimeny it’s been a while since I was on here, but now I can show you what I’ve been up to this past month. After a crazy, super-packed pilgrimage home to Utah in the USA in June, I was able to bring back a few suitcases of supplies and fun stuff to get working again. With the aid of tape, rubber bands, a vacuum, and some creativity we were even able to stuff a giant 2lb bag of poly fill stuffing into a suitcase (along with the essentials such as peanut butter and cans of green chilies 😀 ).

Anyhew, my dearest Aunt Sherri has been having a torrential summer so far by having a double lung transplant due to cystic fibrosis. She is really a remarkable woman, one whose love and kindness never seems to end, and her determination and courage has seen her through the past few months of intensive care. Needless to say, in the USA these kinds of procedures cost a whole lot, so fundraising has been going on to try and help my aunt and uncle with the $50K+ price tag they will likely get for trying to prolong the life of a loved one. One of those fundraisers is going to be a huge community event in their hometown in Colorado, arranged by other family there, and I wanted to contribute something, so I’ve been busy making Softies for Sherri.

It looks like I got to 31 critters, not as many as I would have liked but at least a decent sized brood. Nearly all of the plushies I’ve already made were donated as well, shoring up the numbers a bit there too. I really wanted to make more of the zipper mouthed monsters and the large guys, but they took all day for just one because of all the sewing – I really need to get a machine! – so I started trying out different styles of monsters that had less sewing involved – ie less arms and legs. Hopefully, they are cute enough. The cyclops guys out of toe socks were some of the quickest, as they only had small parts of sewing, though they did have extra features like eyes, mouths, and the standing ones had a base of felt stitched on so they would stand.

I’m also lucky I have a sister who loves socks, as she gave me the really fun toe socks used for the cyclops monsters as well as some other fun print socks used for the teddy bear and a few other guys. I hope that they get there in time for the event – cross your fingers for me that the post office here won’t go on strike again and the vacuum bags of little monsters will get there in time and can help raise funds for a much needed cause.

If you’d like to learn more about my aunt’s story or learn how you can help, her website is here – lungs4sherri.org. They have neat t-shirts now and they might have more info on the fundraiser event in September.

Time taken: I was able to get about 2 monsters a day for a while, sometimes less and sometimes more… I don’t want to think about it in seconds 😦  If you want a better idea you can look at my previous posts on plushies for how long one takes.

Leave a Reply

