A friendly Cyclops and an Abominable Snowman

– I totally forgot how to schedule posts… so I guess 4-5 in one week will do for a bit ๐Ÿ˜€ –

Have you ever lost your groove on a passion project? How do you rekindle the flame? I was completely taken with sock monsters, and then when I ran out of fluff and had to turn elsewhere for my crafting needs for a while, I admit I lost a bit of that spark. Pinterest boards can be inspiring, but after too much looking I feel overwhelmed. I do still enjoy making monsters, I just tend to forget that I have crafts waiting for me now, and not vice-versa. I’m sure it will come back to me, or maybe I’m just losing my attention span…

Anyhew, back to crafts. I was watching Monsters Inc and Monsters University, and I was bitten by the inspiration bug after seeing a pair of white fuzzy socks. I was determined to make my own Abominable Snowman, just like this guy –

Yeti.MonstersInc

It was fun trying to get my ideas to come to life, but it also ended up a bit more weird than I thought –

IMG_8871

I had a tough time finding the right eyes, as the white buttons blended into the background, and I find the solid black a little creepy. The mouth was also tricky, and I’m glad you can’t see all the layers of thread in there. It is made from the heel of the second sock in the pair, the rest of the second sock was used for his arms. All in all, it was a fun project, it didn’t turn out quite like I thought but I might try the same approach again for other, more colorful monsters, and see how it turns out. I think the next time I will include a felt base behind the eyes, though I’m still not sure how to get lips in there… Still no idea for names, any suggestions?

IMG_8869

Here’s Betty, the cyclops. I like the smile and the hearts are kind of fun too. I really like this monster format, but I’m worried everything I make looks the same. Time to visit the internet photos for more ideas I guess, or just embrace what I like and use the dozen or so pairs of fuzzy socks I have waiting for me ๐Ÿ˜€

Happy crafting!

Time taken: About 7200 seconds per monster, probably 10800 for the snowman as I had to finagle with his face more ๐Ÿ˜‰

One thought on “A friendly Cyclops and an Abominable Snowman

Leave a Reply

